Once again, another "build-a-pc" topic

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Longbow, 19 Jul 2009.

1. Longbow Victorique <3

Once again, another "build-a-pc" topic

First off, you should all know i am a Noob when it comes to PC components...

I've decided to (hopefully) get a new PC this christmas. This time a decent one capable of giving me more than 20fps on TF2 >_>

It should fit 3 requirements:

1) Be a gaming computer,
    2) Be powerful without sucking the life out of the plug sockets,
    3) In the price range of £500 - £1200,
    4) Be able to run for at least 10 hours straight (mixture of gaming and idleness) without exploding.
    optional) Custom built would be nice, but not necessary.

I've done a bit of looking around but looking at this kind of stuff hurts my head :suicide:

All i want is some opinions on a good starting point so i can modify it from there if need be.

2. Re: Once again, another "build-a-pc" topic

if u want it for christmas, wait

3. Re: Once again, another "build-a-pc" topic

True, new hardware parts will be released until christmas and the prices will change ... so, recommend a PC now is pretty "useless" because I bet every slot will switch with another - newer - part of this hardware :)

4. Longbow Victorique <3

Re: Once again, another "build-a-pc" topic

oh.

Fail on my behalf

5. Knud Phat beats only

Not fail, just a tip :)

It's always good to start looking around.
    Maybe check bit-tech.net for some reviews + guides.
    That will give you some info to start with.

6. Fromage "The Cheese"

Waiting for price drops sucks though. Because the exchange rates changes, some components gets more expensive when some get cheaper its really hard to time right. Sure lots of new things will come til this winter but it doesn't have to affect the pricing that much. :) But if you can wait you should I guess, but there will always be new stuff and price changes to either way so..

Erik

7. Re: Once again, another "build-a-pc" topic