The awesometastic, animetastic, grimtastic thread

Discussion in 'Random' started by gRiMrEaPeRsco, 18 Mar 2010.

1. gRiMrEaPeRsco Thunder ... wait for it ... Penis

The awesometastic, animetastic, grimtastic thread

!!WARNING!! Contrary to the title this thread is going to be pretty boring !!WARNING!!

I'm kinda new to anime and im looking for some nice chaps or chapettes to recommend some jolly good anime series or films to watch. So far ive watched baka to test, bleach, chubra, durarara, fairy tale, fight ippatsu, hanamaru youchien, kaiden resturant (japanese scooby doo), K-ON, Ladies vs butlers, needless, omamori himari, queens blade (season 2), Sora no otoshimono, index, railgun, vampire bund, zero to tsukaima and cowboy bebop (if you read all that thank you :D). Im looking for some adulty stuff (violence and such) but also some funny stuff :). any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I would also really like to see an anime with a steampunk/magicy setting like fairy tale or world of warcraft, you know, that sort artstyle, i really like that but it seems to be rare amoungst animes, and in general to be honest :(

inb4 "let me google that for you" i've done that and no idea how to tell bad animes from good animes without spending years watching all the bad ones to find good ones.

2. It has to be... surprise surprise...

[​IMG]

Elfen Lied! Possibly one of the best animes ever made -- very strong violence - especially for the first 10 minutes of the very first episode, but if you look beyond that and look at the heart of the story and what it's trying to say about life, people and relationships then it's bloody fantastic!

I can't find my favourite translation of the series online anymore, but here's a link to one that's at least a semi-decent translation: Elfen Lied episodes

That will be my only suggestion as everything else I've watched I've not really enjoyed recently... :s Oh well...

Savage