I can't be the only one thinking this...

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Th-, 11 Mar 2009.

1. Th-

I can't be the only one thinking this...

Having followed the global events these past few years, we are known to have two large problems: The global financial crisis and the climate chance.

I'm not an expert on either of the subjects, but I believe I can sum both problems with just a few key points:
    1) Economy is shrinking, because people don't have real money to spend (instead they've spent lots of loans, which is the primary reason for the situation in US)
    2) Old systems, old habits and old infrastructure tax the environment too much, which results in the ongoing potentially very dangerous climate change.

So correct me if I'm wrong, but couldn't governments tackle both problems the same time by creating a huge number of jobs, required education/training opportunities and appropriate infrastructure in the form of several local/national/international efforts to work on an aspect of the climate problem? Since the environment is so big (read: the world), doesn't it have opportunities for every human on the planet?

Work with seas, work with forests, work with food creation, clearing pollution on land air and water, improving green technology, building green infrastructure, recycling more, demolishing old and creating new power supply, maintaining and recreating rainforests, etc etc.

Making all these jobs happen would require a massive effort, resulting in literally millions of new jobs. With that kind of effort even the environment however large it is would start to improve in a notable pace. As a side-effect, the new jobs would simply boost the employment ratings and get money flowing throughout the economy.

Why have I not seen discussions about this anywhere yet? Anyone?